Texas A&M, Missouri officially join SEC on Sunday

The SEC finally welcomes Texas A&M and Missouri officially Sunday, marking the conference’s first expansion since 1991.

Both schools join the Southeastern Conference after vacating spots in the Big 12, where the Aggies and Tigers were among the founding 12 members in 1996.

The Big 12 also lost members Colorado and Nebraska to the Pac-12 and Big Ten, respectively, after both schools left last season in the first major parts of realignment.

The SEC now includes 14 schools, seven each in the Eastern and Western divisions. The champions of each division will again play in the annual SEC Championship Game, which will be held on Dec. 1 this year.

The new divisions are as follows:

East Division West Division
Florida Gators Alabama Crimson Tide
Georgia Bulldogs Arkansas Razorbacks
Kentucky Wildcats Auburn Tigers
Missouri Tigers LSU Tigers
South Carolina Gamecocks Mississippi State Bulldogs
Tennessee Volunteers Ole Miss Rebels
Vanderbilt Commodores Texas A&M Aggies


West Virginia, TCU officially join Big 12 on Sunday

West Virginia and TCU will officially make the switch to the Big 12 on Sunday, marking the latest official move in the seemingly endless train of conference realignment.

West Virginia joins the conference after severing ties with the Big East, while TCU is leaving the cozy comfort of the Mountain West to join the ranks of the misnomered AQ conference.

The two squads replace SEC-bound Missouri and Texas A&M to once again give the conference just 10 member schools.

Both West Virginia and TCU endured some controversy on their way to the Big 12. TCU was originally scheduled for a move to the Big East, but dropped that plan once a spot in the Big 12, a more logical geographic group, opened up. The Big East is suing TCU for reneging on that agreement.

West Virginia left the Big East in a storm of lawsuits and broken agreements, which ends with the school paying the conference a $10-million exit fee, with the Big 12 reportedly kicking an extra $10 million.

The conference membership is now as follows:

Big 12 Conference

Baylor Bears

Iowa State Cyclones

Kansas Jayhawks

Kansas State Wildcats
Oklahoma Sooners
Oklahoma State Cowboys
TCU Horned Frogs
Texas Longhorns
Texas Tech Red Raiders
West Virginia Mountaineers