Florida State Ends BCS Era With Title Game Victory


Undefeated and No. 1, Florida State came through in the clutch late to capture the final title of the BCS era, topping Auburn, 34-31.

After giving up a late lead to Tre Mason and the Tigers, Jameis Winston and the Seminoles marched quickly back up the field for a game-winning touchdown with just 13 seconds left.

With help from a costly pass interference penalty and a 7-play, 80-drive where Winston was 6-of-7, Florida State ended the SEC’s lengthy title streak and closed the BCS era out with style.

Florida State ends the era as the only non-SEC team to win multiple BCS titles.


2014 BCS Bowl Schedule


One last time, the Bowl Championship Series will feature five bowls — the traditional Rose, Sugar, Orange and Fiesta Bowls, along with the “double-hosting” format BCS National Championship Game to be played in Pasadena on January 6, 2014.

Affiliations appear with all five BCS bowls, either by conference or by BCS ranking. If the conference is unable to fulfill an affiliation (i.e. that team is selected for the title game) the bowl can choose any BCS-eligible at-large team. For more information on the selection process, head over to the BCS Bowls page.

Note: The American Athletic Conference is not directly tied to any one BCS bowl, but the conference’s champion will receive a bid to the BCS in the conference’s last season.

2014 BCS Schedule

Rose Bowl

January 1, 2014 5 p.m. ET

Big Ten Conference


Pac-12 Conference

Fiesta Bowl

January 1, 2014 8:30 p.m. ET

Big 12 Conference


BCS At-large

Sugar Bowl

January 2, 2014 8:30 p.m. ET

Southeastern Conference


BCS At-large


Orange Bowl

January 3, 2014 8:30 p.m. ET

Atlantic Coast Conference


BCS At-large


BCS National Championship Game in Pasadena, Calif.

January 6, 2014 8:30 p.m. ET

BCS No. 1


BCS No. 2